Friday, August 03, 2012

Schedule for 15U Baseball World Championship announced

Inaugural Tournament will be held in Chihuahua, Mexico from August 16 to 26

Bookmark and Share

The International Baseball Federation announced the schedule for the I IBAF 15U Baseball World Championship in Chihuahua, Mexico. 16 teams will participate in the tournament from August 16 to 26, 2012. It is the inaugural IBAF event in this age category.

After the preliminary round robin the top two teams of each of the three pools will advance to the final round, while the remaining teams will play the classification round. At the end of the final round the top two teams will play in the Gold Medal Game.

Three stadiums will be used in the IBAF 15U Baseball World Championship. The main venue will be Estadio Monumental in Chihuahua with a capacity of 15,000. The other two will seat about 5,000 in in Parral and in Cuauhtemoc.

Group A:
  • Mexico
  • Chinese Taipei
  • Bahamas
  • Honduras
  • Lithuania
  • Italy

Group B:
  • Cuba
  • Brazil
  • Indonesia
  • Hong Kong
  • Argentina

Group C:
  • Venezuela
  • Aruba
  • Ukraine
  • Nicaragua
  • Germany

After Colombia and Uganda withdraw from the competition, IBAF swapped Honduras and Argentina. More information about the I IBAF 15U Baseball World Championship will be published on in the coming days.