Thursday, November 29, 2012

Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens Among Newcomers to HoF Ballot

Press Release Baseball Writers' Association of America

Bookmark and Share

Jack Morris, Jeff Bagwell, Lee Smith Lead Returnees; Results Announced Jan. 9, 2013

Roger Clemens and Barry Bonds, the two most decorated players in the history of Baseball Writers’ Association of America awards voting, and Craig Biggio, a member of the 3,000-hit club, are among 24 new candidates on the 2013 Hall of Fame ballot that is being mailed this week to more than 600 voting members of the BBWAA.

They join 13 holdovers from the 2012 balloting in which shortstop Barry Larkin was elected. Candidates must be named on 75 percent of the ballots submitted to gain entry into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y.

In the 2012 voting, Larkin was named on 495 of 573 ballots cast (86.4 percent). For election, 430 votes were necessary. The only other players on at least half the ballots were pitcher Jack Morris with 382 votes (66.7), first baseman Jeff Bagwell with 321 (56.0) and relief pitcher Lee Smith with 290 (50.6).

Players may remain on the ballot for up to 15 years provided they receive five percent of the vote in the previous year. The only first-year candidate in 2012 who received sufficient support to remain was outfielder Bernie Williams with 55 votes (9.6).

Clemens, who compiled a 354-184 record with a 3.12 earned run average and 4,672 strikeouts over a 24-season career, was the recipient of eight BBWAA awards, the most by any individual player. He was the American League Most Valuable Player with the Boston Red Sox in 1986 and won the Cy Young Award a record seven times – in the AL with the Red Sox in 1986, ’87 and ’91; with the Toronto Blue Jays in 1997 and ’98; with the New York Yankees in 2001 and in the National League with the Houston Astros in 2004.

Bonds, baseball’s single-season home run record holder with 73 in 2001 and all-time home run leader with 762 over a 22-season career with the Pittsburgh Pirates and San Francisco Giants, was the MVP of the NL seven times, more than twice as often as any player in history, including a record string of four victories from 2001-04 with the Giants. Bonds also won with the Giants in 1993 and with the Pirates in 1990 and ’92. He finished second in the voting in 1991 with the Pirates and 2000 with the Giants.

Biggio totaled 3,060 hits in a 20-season career spent entirely with the Astros. He played regularly as a catcher, second baseman and outfielder. Of Biggio’s hit total, 668 were doubles, which ranks fifth all-time and first among right-handed batters. He is the only player in history with at least 3,000 hits, 600 doubles, 400 stolen bases and 250 home runs.

Outfielder Sammy Sosa, the NL MVP in 1998, and two former Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award winners, catchers Sandy Alomar Jr. (1990) and Mike Piazza (1993), are also on the ballot for the first time. Joining them are pitchers Curt Schilling, the 2001 World Series co-MVP, and David Wells, whose perfect game in 1998 was a highlight of the Yankees’ 114-victory season; outfielders Kenny Lofton, who competed in 20 postseason series, and Shawn Green, the record holder for most total bases in a game (19), and infielder Julio Franco, the ageless former batting champion who was the oldest player (48) to hit a home run in the majors. Other newcomers are starting pitchers Aaron Sele and Woody Williams; relievers Roberto Hernandez, Jose Mesa and Mike Stanton; infielders Jeff Cirillo, Royce Clayton and Todd Walker; outfielders Steve Finley, Reggie Sanders and Rondell White and outfielders-first baseman Jeff Conine and Ryan Klesko.

Among those returning to the ballot are first basemen Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire and Rafael Palmeiro; outfielders Dale Murphy, Tim Raines and Larry Walker; shortstop Alan Trammell and third baseman-designated hitter Edgar Martinez.

Writers with 10 or more consecutive years’ experience make up the electorate, which must return ballots by a Dec. 31 postmark. Votes are counted jointly by BBWAA secretary-treasurer Jack O’Connell and Ernst & Young partner Michael DiLecce. Results will be announced Wednesday, January 9, 2013, on the MLB Network and the web sites of the Hall of Fame and the BBWAA.

PercentYrs on
Sandy Alomar Jr.

Jeff Bagwell 321 56.0% 2
Craig Biggio

Barry Bonds

Jeff Cirillo

Royce Clayton

Roger Clemens

Jeff Conine

Steve Finley

Julio Franco

Shawn Green

Roberto Hernandez

Ryan Klesko

Kenny Lofton

Edgar Martinez 209 36.5% 3
Don Mattingly 102 17.8% 12
Fred McGriff 137 23.9% 3
Mark McGwire 112 19.5% 6
Jose Mesa

Jack Morris 382 66.7% 13
Dale Murphy 83 14.5% 14
Rafael Palmeiro 72 12.6% 2
Mike Piazza

Tim Raines 279 48.7% 5
Reggie Sanders

Curt Schilling

Aaron Sele

Lee Smith 290 50.6% 10
Sammy Sosa

Mike Stanton

Alan Trammell 211 36.8% 11
Larry Walker 131 22.9% 2
Todd Walker

David Wells

Rondell White

Bernie Williams 55 9.6% 1
Woody Williams

Note: 75% required for enshrinement.
Results announced Jan. 9, 2013.